- Walkers starting each day
- Up to 48
- Length
- 48 km over 4 days and 3 nights, one way (Parks Tasmania walk notes)
- Cabins
- Surveyors, Munro and Retakunna
- Opening day
- Not stated by Parks Tasmania
- Cancellation more than 14 days out
- 25 percent of the booking fee
- Fuel stoves
- Fuel stove only area at all times of the year
The four days
Parks Tasmania's walk notes give these stages, all one way.
- Day 1: Denmans Cove to Surveyors, 4 km, 1.5 to 2 hours
- Day 2: Surveyors to Munro, 11 km, 4 to 4.5 hours
- Day 3: Munro to Retakunna, 19 km, about 6 hours
- Day 4: Retakunna to Fortescue Bay, 14 km, 6 to 7 hours
Booking, changing and cancelling
You check in at the Port Arthur Historic Site Visitor Centre and the boat takes you to Denmans Cove. The walk ends at Fortescue Bay with a bus back to Port Arthur.
If you cancel more than 14 days before your start date, the fee is 25 percent of the booking fee. Parks Tasmania does not state the fee inside 14 days on that page. A date change costs nothing if you tell them more than three days before you start; less notice may carry a fee. Fares are on the Parks Tasmania booking page.
What the cabins have
Each walker gets a bunk and single mattress. The shared kitchen has gas cooktops, saucepans, frying pans and kettles, with no microwave or fridge. The sleeping rooms have no heating or lights. You bring your own cutlery and crockery. The gear page for the Three Capes Track has the full list.
Questions
How many people can start the Three Capes Track each day?
Up to 48 people are booked to start each day, according to Parks Tasmania.
What is the Three Capes Track cancellation fee?
More than 14 days before your start date it is 25 percent of the booking fee. Parks Tasmania's FAQ does not state the fee inside 14 days.
Can you use a campfire on the Three Capes Track?
No. It is a fuel stove only area at all times of the year, and campfires are not permitted.
Is there a waitlist for the Three Capes Track?
No. Parks Tasmania tells walkers to check the availability page regularly for spaces.
Sources
- Parks and Wildlife Service Tasmania: Three Capes Track frequently asked questions
- Parks and Wildlife Service Tasmania: Three Capes Track walk notes
Facts checked against the pages above on 30 October 2026. Fees, dates and rules change; confirm them on the agency's page before you pay.
In an emergency in Australia, call 000.